June 10, 2009

Half a lifetime.

(Cross-posted)

bday balloonMy 35th birthday is coming later this month. I don’t have any weird “thing” about age – I’m loving my thirties and refuse to get freaked out about getting “old” and having laugh lines (I like laugh lines), and I refuse to treat age as if it’s unnatural or horrible.

However – I do think age, memories, and the passing of time are interesting. I also like the idea of putting the “then” beside the “now.” So I thought, what if I find a journal (only, at the time it was called a “diary”) entry from when I was 17/18? Half a lifetime ago, and it’d be fun to share what the teen was thinking.

Only, I looked through the diary I have from that time and all I ever wrote about were guys. Seriously. It seemed like I was always in love with someone. I even wrote in one entry that my whole diary was “stupid” because it held no deep thoughts, no ideas, no dreams – just thoughts about and daydreams of and hopes for certain GUYS. (I guess now that I’ve put that out there, I could post the entry sometime before the 21st. Now that you’re prepared, I mean.)

In the meantime, however, I found this! I’ve been trying to get the Stars & Stripes to review Homefront for two reasons: 1) it’s an overseas paper distributed to military posts/bases. There’s no more appropriate paper for it (except for the Army Times), and 2) it’s one of those personal goals. I grew up reading the Stars & Stripes and can’t think of a better paper to be reviewed by.

stars and stripes June 12 1994

One of the  angles I offered, that I hoped would lend originality to the story, was that I was quoted in a Stars & Stripes issue in 1994 (June 12) when I still lived in, but after 13 years was about to leave, Germany. I was quoted as saying, basically, that I was excited to go somewhere as “foreign” to me as the US was at the time, but that I was worried about its crime rate.

Check out that perm! I was nine days shy of turning 20 when that issue came out.

And, just because, here’s a picture of the Marktplatz downtown Heidelberg. (It’s actually a digital picture taken of a picture-picture…that’s why it’s blurry.) I grew up in Neckarsteinach – a 15-minute train ride from Heidelberg – but school, downtown fun, and everything else happened in Heidelberg.

marktplatz hd

Join the conversation! 1 Comment

Leave a Reply

About Kris Tsetsi

Kristen J. Tsetsi is the author of the novels "Pretty Much True..." and "The Year of Dan Palace" and the short fiction collection "20 Short Stories," all published under the name Chris Jane. Website: http://kristenjtsetsi.com

Category

Uncategorized