Kristen senior pic

Senior pic. Good hair day!

In honor of my upcoming 35th birthday, I’ll be posting random diary entries from my 17th, 17 1/2th year. (Note: The “Ian” in the following entry is the one I’m married to now.  Love at first sight. Or…)

Nov. 20, 1991

Life’s gotten even MORE interesting. There’s a new guy (well, fairly new) named Ian. He’s tall & has dark hair & blue eyes. Like a dork, I wrote him a couple stupid notes and slipped them in his locker. Eventually, I let him know who I was (after about 3 days) and today he walked by in English and said, “NO NOTE TODAY?” I got kind of snotty because I thought he was being sarcastic, and he said he wasn’t being sarcastic when I asked. I think I embarrassed him. So during 5th period, when I knew what class he was in (weightlifting), I finished my Alg. test and pretended I really had to go to the bathroom. I went to the gym & up the  stairs to the weightlifting room. … When I walked in, he didn’t hear me behind him, so I tapped him on the shoulder.

Ian says it's not a mullet.

Ian says it's not a mullet.

When he turned around, I smiled & handed him the note that said: Please excuse my attitude earlier. I’ll write, but only if you write back. Sound good? – Kris. As soon as I handed it to him, he said “Thanks” & gave a little smile. I said you’re welcome and walked out calmly, though not feeling calm at all. Tomorrow, tomorrow…

Also, I met a German guy named Dan downtown that’s pretty funny. He wants me to call him tomorrow. Maybe.

Again, hopefully, I’ll say “screw [boy I dated].” He’s a jerk. He’s just so good looking…but so what! Spaeter!

Join the conversation! 3 Comments

  1. I’ll agree that that’s not a mullet if Ian will testify that my hairstyle back then also wasn’t a mullet. (Although I haven’t seen any pictures of myself from then, I am sure they exist.)

    Reply
  2. There is many a NASCAR fan that would envy that fine example of a mullet. Okay, who am I kidding-there are many of my relatives that would envy that fine example of a mullet.

    Reply
  3. Sorry, Ian. That is the mulletiest mullet ever.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

About Kris Tsetsi

Kristen J. Tsetsi is the author of the novels "Pretty Much True..." and "The Year of Dan Palace" and the short fiction collection "20 Short Stories," all published under the name Chris Jane. Website: http://kristenjtsetsi.com

Category

Uncategorized

Tags

, , , , , ,