September 1, 2009

A huge thank you to MCM

Cover art is important.

I know this not only because I’m attracted to certain cover styles myself, but because of this, written by an online book reviewer about my original cover for Homefront:

I’m not usually picky about book covers but I have to admit that this one was off-putting. After it arrived in the mail I put it aside easily for a while because the cover actually made me not want to read it.

She later went on to praise the stuff inside the cover, so it all worked out well. BUT: people won’t know what’s on the inside if they’re not attracted to the outside.

MCM, the  creator of RollBots (wiki page here), has been using his image composition skills (or whatever they’re technically called–I’m so un-pro I don’t know the lingo) to greatly improve my book covers. The first, Homefront, went from my novice effort (critiqued in the above quote)

cover for milcom

to MCM’s far superior

Print

More recently, he used his expertise to apply subtle – but most incredible – changes to the cover for Carol’s Aquarium, transforming it from my somewhat amateur design

CAROL'S AQUARIUM COVER2

into this professional and far more compelling cover:

CAROLS AQUARIUM COVER MCM small

THANK YOU, MCM!

Join the conversation! 2 Comments

  1. That looks amazing!!!!

    Reply
  2. Very nice work! Although I have to say I didn’t find your original cover off-putting.

    Hmm, I wonder what sort of cover I could make with my image-composition skills. It would probably involve Dennis running away from a Dalek with the body of a Kong or something like that.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

About Kris Tsetsi

Kristen J. Tsetsi is the author of the novels "Pretty Much True..." and "The Year of Dan Palace" and the short fiction collection "20 Short Stories," all published under the name Chris Jane. Website: http://kristenjtsetsi.com

Category

Uncategorized

Tags

, , , , ,