October 6, 2009

A Tuesday short.

[The following originally appeared in Six Sentences]

.

THERAPEUTIC WRITING IS FOR JOURNALS

I certainly don’t like the stories about the critically ill, no – not in the New Yorker or the Sun Magazine, not in the web ‘zines you find on the internet, not in Reader’s Digest.

Trite, the descriptions of tubes and programmable beds and all the words never said still locked in the lungs of visitors standing bedside, or stuck in the sputum sliming a trach balloon. I don’t care what anyone learns or doesn’t learn, who is sad or who isn’t and why, what the needle sores look like on the arm that was once flesh-healthy. At the first mention of “feeding tube” or “bright, sterile hospital,” I flip or scroll or click forward – those stories tire me. They always have, yes, as have the Diseased Children and Cancer Women movies on Lifetime.

Even now, I won’t read one of those hospital stories, because even now, I’d be insufferably bored, but I do, now, understand the compulsion to write one.

Just don’t expect me to want you to read it.

.

.

.

[*Note: this isn’t based on anything currently happening in my life, or in the life of anyone I know.]

.

Leave a Reply

About Kris Tsetsi

Kristen J. Tsetsi is the author of the novels "Pretty Much True..." and "The Year of Dan Palace" and the short fiction collection "20 Short Stories," all published under the name Chris Jane. Website: http://kristenjtsetsi.com

Category

Uncategorized

Tags

, , , , , , , ,