December 17, 2009

The worst-read writer

It’s been a long time since I’ve taken the time to sit around and read. In high school I always had a book. Always. I would read while I walked, while I ate, while a teacher lectured, and any time waiting was involved (for the bank teller, for the train, for an awkward moment to pass, etc.).

In college, I read what was assigned. Afterward, I was busy doing other things. Writing, I think. Working. Playing. Whatever.

More recently, I’ve been fiddling with something new, and during that time I’ve stayed away from reading (and I’m not done with the new thing, yet, but I’m hoping to finish in very, very early 2010). When I finish, I’m reading. Reading, reading, reading. I’ve decided to dedicate two weeks to a reading binge, and after that, when I’m doing something else (like looking for a job), I’ll continue reading. Yes. And so far, these are the books I can’t wait to get to (whether or not they fall into my two-week reading binge, and in no particular order):

A novel by my friend Rob C.

April Fool’s Day by Josip Novakovich

Undiscovered Country by Lin Enger

Threshold by Bonnie Kozek

The Splendor of Antiquity by Cheryl Anne Gardner (and others by Gardner)

Do the Math by Philip Persinger

In the Time of Man by James C. Moore

The American Book of the Dead by Henry Baum

Recollections: A Baby Boomer’s Memories of the Fabulous Fifties by Jim Chambers

600 Hours of Edward by Craig Lancaster

The Intuitionist by Colson Whitehead

The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield

The Hemingway books I ordered from eBay

(A Farewell to Arms, For Whom the Bell Tolls, and The Hemingway Reader)

What’s on your to-be-read list?

Join the conversation! 9 Comments

  1. Thanks for adding mine to your list.

    My TBR list for January as it stands now:

    Unbearable Lightness of Being — in progress and lovin’ it.
    Threshold by Bonnie Kozek
    Dexter by Design by Jeff Lindsay

    This doesn’t include the 30 or so odd books on my Amazon wish list.

    I try to read at least 4 books a month, not including review books. I don’t buy until I am ready to start the month, if I did the TBR pile would get out of control.

    Reply
  2. On my reading list:

    A collection of Philip Jose Farmer short stories and a couple other library books I forget the titles. Also, I’m looking forward to reading The Year of Dan Palace. šŸ˜‰

    Reply
  3. The forty books on my to-read list (on Goodreads) will probably stay there, but that’s not to say I haven’t been reading good fiction. Constantly. And poetry, which can be relished in small portions.

    Reply
  4. l just finished Philip Persinger’s “Semele.” VERY cool book!

    On my immediate to-read list:

    Last Door – Raven Rozier
    The Kissing Room – Cheryl Anne Gardner
    Threshold – Bonnie Kozek
    A book of Pablo Neruda’s poetry that my brother’s going to lend me.

    Then it will be my annual P.G. Wodehouse/Dorothy L. Sayers marathon. They always help me with the Winter Blahs.

    I loved “Unbearable Lightness.”

    Reply
  5. Ian: I admire your library book-ing. I still have a compulsion to own the books I read (which is why I’ll probably never buy a Kindle, either…I can appreciate the technology – I love it, in fact…but I really like to hold, and shelve, a book).

    Robin: I guess there may not be much time for reading outside of all the other reading you do. šŸ™‚ I should read more poetry.

    Kel: When I visited P.P.’s website, I had a hard time trying to decide which of his books to read first. If you haven’t read “Do The Math,” I’ll tell you what I think when I finish (but if the first page is any indication, I’m pretty sure I’m going to like it).

    Reply
  6. Finishing up the latest Merrily Watkins mystery, then I have “The Terror”, “The System of the World”, “A Game of Thrones”, “Her Fearful Symmetry”, and a few more whose titles I don’t remember at the moment …

    Reply
  7. Kris, I read “Do the Math” first. Very different from “Semele” but also very excellent.

    Reply
  8. Dennis: I should have adopted dogs. My cats don’t read anything.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

About Kris Tsetsi

Kristen J. Tsetsi is the author of the novels "Pretty Much True..." and "The Year of Dan Palace" and the short fiction collection "20 Short Stories," all published under the name Chris Jane. Website: http://kristenjtsetsi.com

Category

Uncategorized

Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,