My hard-hitting, super duper, ultra-informative interview with award-winning author (and super-promoter) Carolyn Howard-Johnson is now live at the Self-Publishing Review.

Also, Phyllis Zimbler Miller, founder of FilmsThatSupportOurTroops.com and author of Mrs. Lieutenant (a finalist in the 2008 Amazon Breakthrough Novel competition), generously invited me to guest blog at her site.

Here’s a snip:

When my husband left for Iraq in 2003, it was my first experience with a deployment, and it was not a good one. I imagined him being shot down. I imagined his funeral. Looking at his pictures could, on a bad day, send me into a gasping, sobbing fit because it was too easy to imagine never seeing his face again.

When he left at the start of the war, embedded reporters were bringing immediate updates 24 hours a day. Unless I had to, I didn’t leave the TV, and I rarely watched anything but the news. When I slept, it was with the TV on. I would wake up – without trying – every hour, look at the screen and the ticker-tape to check for his name or his division, and then go back to sleep when it appeared all was well.

One night, after waking up to check the news, I wondered how hard it could be, really, to pack my things and catch a commercial flight to Kuwait…

Read the rest here.

Miller is on a mission to get a corporate sponsor for FilmsThatSupportOurTroops.com to get wider distribution for films about the military. If you’re interested in helping and know a way to do it, I’m sure she’d love to hear from you.

Leave a Reply

About Kris Tsetsi

Kristen J. Tsetsi is the author of the novels "Pretty Much True..." and "The Year of Dan Palace" and the short fiction collection "20 Short Stories," all published under the name Chris Jane. Website: http://kristenjtsetsi.com

Category

Uncategorized

Tags

, , , , , , ,